top of page
Search

LockDown project

Updated: Jun 2, 2022

HO shunting layout





After LOTS of hours of searching I found this.

My space is very limited for HO and I wanted something small I can show off and go wild with detail.

This I can build on a 2.5m x 500mm board and I can split it in the middle for easy storage and handling.


Design




I designed the track plan using SCARM, just to make sure it will work and to get an idea of the size of the benchwork.



So, HERE WE GO !!!


“Options in a small space.”



During lockdown we could not really go anyware or do much. I still had to work, but for the rest we were just home. My dad have quite a bit of wood still in his garage, so I gave him the measurements and he cut everything to size and delivered it at my front door. So I had all the bits to start the build !!!!! I still have electrical wire as well as a few sheets of Styrofoam from my N and z scale layouts and it ended up beeing more than enough.



Cork & Trackwork



This was a first for me, as I have never worked with cork. I got 3mm thick cork from a friend quite some time ago, so I decided to cut it in strips and glue that on the base and then do the track on top of that.

After all the cork was layed I lightly sanded it to make sure it is flat and smooth.

Then I glued the track on to the cork.


Electrical work




I really spend a lot of time and effort on this.

I soldered feeder wires (red & black) to every piece of track.

The points I also modified, so the frog is powered by a switch + one way - the other way. I also soldered feeder wires to the entrance of each point and the movable part of the point was connected to those wires. This means that the point does not have to rely on contact for power. My N scale points is like that and if it is not cleaned properly, wow, it can really cause lots of frustration.

I used switches that have 6 connection points, so that allow me to connect the semaphore signals to each switch together with the point. When the switch is moved it will change the point and also change the signal. Very Cool.....


Building the Station

“Station Building, oooo, the detail”



I decided to paint everything with this build, it will get rid of the plastic look of the kit.

I tried to keep the colours similar to the kit, but the bricks and the wood I changed.

I also totally repainted the goods shed's doors.

It was really a nice kit to build.



“Scratch-build the Platform.”

The Platforms that came with the kits does not fit my track configuration, so I took some blue foam and cut it to the correct thickness with my hot wire cutter.

I then cut the different sections according to the track.

I glued them together and sanded it smooth and got an awesome texture in the process.

I printed some stones for the wall of the Platforms and I scribe the stones on the edge.

I drew in the white and yellow lines on the edge of the platform.



“Scratch-build the Station Interior, because I can !!!”


The whole idea of the HO layout is to got detail overboard. I really enjoy this.

I do not think there is interiors available as a kit, so I built it from paper and cardboard.

I printed everything I want and then the fun started.

I built the benches on the inside and the ticket office.

I also found pictures of ticket printing machines, (self help).

Floors and walls was also done.


“Fleischmann Buffers"


I found these awesome buffers, made by Fleischmann, just had to paint them.


“Platform Build and Custom Lighting"



I used the Platform Canopies from the Platform Kit I bought and I made custom lights to fit under the canopy.

I uses a 1mm CMD LED with very thin wire.

For the canopy of the light, I drilled a hole in some plastic and I made it from glue. I painted the outside black and it came out awesome, I think so....



“The Final Fitting, putting everything together"



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page